An Update and a Dog

Hello all! So it’s been a while since we’ve chatted and SO much has gone on since my last post! So let’s start off from landing in Hawaii and get right to it because we’ve got a lot to get through.

So getting back from Hawaii and going back to work I made a decision that would change my life.

It started out just like any other day at work, it was the weekend so the adoption group we work with was in the store. Me and the woman who runs the rescue are very close as we’ve known each other for a few years. She came up to me and said “Hey we’ve just got some new dogs, come and see!” And what happened after I followed her changed my life forever. She opened the door to the carrier, and out came running the smallest, skinniest, scaredy-cat Chihuahua I’ve ever seen. She ran right out of her carrier and into my heart. She crawled into my lap and I don’t think I put her down for the rest of the day. I fell in love with her immediately.

IMG_6179

My coworker and Pip

The rest of the work day was spent wishing that I could take her home. People would come up to me when I held her and compliment how cute she was and how they wished they could take her home too. Every time some one would say that my heart would sink and I would think ‘what if they do take her, what if she gets adopted and I will never get the chance.’

The work day came to a close and there was a question on where the dog was going to be fostered. I went and called my room mate and asked if we could possibly take her for just a few days until another foster situation could be figured out; she said yes and before you know it me and the baby were homeward bound!

The next few days I realized what was missing from my life and it was my little dog. I promised I wouldn’t get attached, but within the first half hour I had already changed her name from Rayna to Pip. My boyfriend fell in love with her as well and the next few hours were spent plotting how in the world we could keep her.

It had become very clear to me: I had found the dog I’ve always wanted. She was so sweet! She never barked or whined, she loved to be held and pet, she was house trained and polite with people and other dogs for the most part, and just fit into every aspect of my life. I knew I wouldn’t find anything else that would be as perfect for me. I contacted my landlady and asked her if it was possible to register her as an emotional support animal and put a deposit down so that I could keep her. She agreed that as long as the animal was registered as an ESA (emotional support animal) (I will also post a page about ESA’s and how to register).

Excited with the news I went to work to tell the Adoption Group that I was going to keep Pip. When I got there, the woman informed me that some one else who had already filled out the application for her was going to come and take her home. I was devastated. Some one else was going to take MY dog who I had fallen in love with and keep her for themselves. I went straight to the my friend from the rescue and begged her to please let me take her. I knew that I had found the dog I was looking for and would be the best person to take care of her. She said to fill out an application and she will decide what to do from there.

After reviewing my application and many many minutes of stress and anxiety from me, she pulled me aside and said “I just called the other people and told them that the dog wasn’t going to be able to come here today. I’ll find another dog for them, but if you adopt her today she’s yours.” I was beyond excited! It was finally happening! I ran to get my check book, filled out the paper work and just like that Pip was now mine!

Since then Pip is the best dog I could’ve ever asked for. She sleeps with me every night and I take her to the dog beach twice a week. Milo is still my little mister and I love him very much, but having Pip gives me a different experience that is so amazing. The two of them get along just fine and they even are starting to like each other. It was a match made in heaven.

Since getting Pip I’ve started school. It has been tough but since she is an emotional support animal, I can bring her to class with me and take her most places. Needless to say I am now the most popular girl on campus because of my four pound Chihuahua.

It is so amazing having a dog and it’s something I have been waiting for my whole life; to have one of my very own. She has been great in the apartment and I honestly don’t know how I ever was happy never having one. She has changed my life and I hope that I have done the same for her. We are two peas in a pod. It is so great to have both of my pets be as wonderful as they are and they remind me everyday how to be happy. I am so thankful for both of them and can’t wait to see how we are all going to grow together.

So expect to see and hear a lot more about Pip and our adventures together. If you follow me on Instagram you have already seen some of them. But there are still lots more places to go and I’m so excited! Thanks so much for reading and I hoped you enjoyed it! See you next time!

Love,

Pip, Maddie, and Milo

Leave a Reply

